The Lies of Locke Lamora – Read Along: Wk2

Considering in last weeks post I said I couldn’t put the book down I suddenly realised on Wed night that I hadn’t started any of the next section of the read along. I blame the fact that Mass Effect 3 came out, I was kind of busy playing it. Good thing I have a commute to work gave me a chance to read the section, especially as I want to read the section before I read through the questions.

Although I think perhaps this may not be the best book to commute with. I’m not particularly good with blood and gore and so I tend to skim over these sections carefully. I very nearly fainted (vision faded, dizzy, shortness of breath, cold sweat) on the tube a few months ago from reading a book where a character broke a leg. I had a massive freak out and the sensation is not pleasant! I may have been ok with this section but I really don’t want to risk that any more on the tube. Think it might be safer to read this book at home? 🙂

Edited to add: This section covers Chapter three through to the end of Interlude called “The Boy who Cried for a Corpse”

1) Do you think Locke can pull off his scheme of playing a Midnighter who is working with Don Salvara to capture the Thorn of Camorr? I mean, he is now playing two roles in this game – and thank goodness for that costume room the Gentlemen Bastards have!

I thought that was a very interesting development, and the way it was introduced was cleverly done, messing with the time line slightly to get you the reader guessing. When the Midnighter turned up I was like ‘uh-oh – very convenient how much this person knows!’ and I did wonder if maybe it was Locke but I couldn’t see initially how that might help them in anyway at all, not until they finished the conversation. Its a clever if dangerous rouse, shows how very good they are at their costumes that the Don can’t recognise him! I guess the hope is that he’d be too intimidated by a Midnighter to look too closely. I do wonder what’s it was that was following Locke and Calo. That’s the second time so far (I think unless I missed one) that something has leaped about on buildings nearby them.

2) Are you digging the detail the author has put into the alcoholic drinks in this story?

I must confess that I do and do not take these things in as I read stuff. I notice it when I read it but then kind of don’t think about it after until someone asks questions like this! 🙂 But now its been pointed out and I think about it, yes, it gives more vibrancy to the world. Poor Locke and his first ever hangover.
3) Who is this mysterious lady Gentlemen Bastard Sabetha and what does she mean to Locke?

Hmm I believe he might be in love with her? 🙂 Question is does she return those feelings? Have they had a falling out is that why he doesn’t want to talk about her? Is she ignoring feelings she has for him to get something else done? Questions questions questions!

4) Are you as creeped out over the use of Wraithstone to create Gentled animals as I am?

Not really. Yes I probably should be, it is a creepy thing, making ‘zombiefied’ animals that have no personality. But I read a lot of gritty/dark fantasy, play computer games like Dragon Age/Mass Effect/Fallout and roleplay in games like Dark Heresy (Warhammer 40k Universe). In all of these things there a lots of things that are just as creepy if not more so.  I mean Dragon Age as the Tranquil these are mages that have been cut off from the Fade, so they can’t dream and therefore don’t have emotions. They have to do this to mages who don’t have enough willpower to resist the persuasive power of the Demons who live in the Fade. Otherwise they could become a demonic monster or simply summon demons and they become incredibly dangerous and a threat to everyone. So I am somewhat inured to it all. Although saying that, in Dragon Age they do it to keep dangerous threats at bay to them its necessary they don’t have any other solutions other than say killing the individual, in this its there to what? simply stop animals from spooking? They’re too lazy to train animals properly? So actually maybe it’s worse here as its simply used as a matter of convenience.

5) I got a kick out of child Locke’s first meeting with Capa Barsavi and his daughter Nazca, which was shortly followed up in the story by Barsavi granting adult Locke permission to court his daughter! Where do you think that will lead? Can you see these two together?

I was a little worried when we first met her as a child she might grow up to be very spoiled, as I could see Capa Barsavi indulging her all the time. But after the first conversation as adults she strikes me as quite an intelligent and confident young woman. Based on what I’ve seen so far I can see these two being good friends or if not quite that far then good allies. Don’t expect, not sure I want a romance between them. It would be nice to see a woman in a position of power, who is of a similar age to main character and not have a romantic attachment.

I do love that she is taller than Locke! Is he short? Or is she just tall? 😀

I found  the fact that Nazca and her two brothers wear glasses a nice touch. Often in fantasy novels they never seem quite advanced enough to have glasses, let alone having the children (who I imagine are quite scary in their own right) of one of the most powerful men in the city wearing them.

6) Capa Barsavi is freaked out over rumors of The Gray King and, in fact, us readers are privy to a gruesome torture scene. The Gray King is knocking garristas off left and right. What do you think that means?

Capa Barsavi is really freaking out isn’t he? Torturing what should be trusted me is a sign of a man losing control and being very paranoid. He could have used the fact that they “don’t remember” as a potential clue. Why don’t they remember? What things could make them forget? Drugs? Magic? (I don’t really know enough yet about what if any kind of magic there is that could do this?) Then questions like how could someone have got in and done that to all of Tesso’s men before killing Tesso.  A wasted opportunity. Nazca seems to be the only one thinking straight in the family (although I don’t know her brothers well enough yet.)

I’m sort of wondering if The Grey King  might be Locke… But that could be pushing it a bit. I’m basing this on Chains saying he want’s to destroy the Secret Peace – this seems possibly more violent though then he had in mind. Then again he’s teaching them all how to pretend to be other people so who knows. Or if its not Locke its simply someone else wanting to break down the current structure, or get revenge for something.

7) In the Interlude: The Boy Who Cried for a Corpse, we learn that Father Chains owes an alchemist a favor, and that favor is a fresh corpse. He sets the boys to figuring out how to provide one, and they can’t ‘create’ the corpse themselves. How did you like Locke’s solution to this conundrum?

It was the most sensible one, I was thinking the same thing just before Locke carried out his plan. It’s the kind of thing you might have to do in a roleplaying game and that’s probably one solution we’d do IF we had a quest to do that.  Although once they had the corpse I did wonder what was happening with the candle maker! That was very sneaky! Clever way to make back what they’d spent. Didn’t see that additional part of the plan coming. So I was pleasantly surprised. 🙂 It does make me worry at some point though that Locke might do something too clever for his own good.. again. (Which I suspect he will?)

Last weekend a friend asked me about my first post and when I explained to him what the read along was and how it worked,  he said it seemed like homework. Like the sort we used to get in English when we were studying a Shakespeare play or something. Perhaps in a way it is, but I’m really enjoying this so far, it’s making me think about things and notice things which I might not have given as much thought to before.

Edited to add: I am amused by how much wealth they seem to be amassing! I was wondering what the hell they were going to do with all of it and then its pointed out that even they don’t know what to do with it all!

19 Comments

Filed under Books

19 responses to “The Lies of Locke Lamora – Read Along: Wk2

  1. Pingback: Lies of Locke Lamora read-along, week two! « the Little Red Reviewer

  2. “I am amused by how much wealth they seem to be amassing! I was wondering what the hell they were going to do with all of it and then its pointed out that even they don’t know what to do with it all!”

    Yeah, that seems like quite a detail for Chains to have left out of their education. I wonder what his plan for the money was?

    I actually mentioned the Tranquil in reference to Gentling in my response, too!

    • kaitharshayr

      Yes I’m wondering whether something happened to Chains before he could finish telling them what was what.. guess we’ll find out at some point 🙂

      I saw that you mentioned Dragon Age :), I’d forgotten about the Dementor Kiss in Harry Potter.

      • I had kind of pictured them doing a Robin Hood type deal, but they’re greedy bastards and I don’t think it would suit them. 😀

      • kaitharshayr

        Maybe in the future…..? No not sure I can see them doing that either 🙂

  3. It does almost have a homework feel joining a readalong but it makes your book reading experience better in that you think about it much more. Plus you get this great interaction with all the other readers who all have different opinions.
    Lynn 😀

  4. Pingback: The Lies of Locke Lamora Read Along Part II « Darkcargo

  5. I wish we had this kind of homework in school. 🙂

    I went a bit further than was necessary in the book and I tried to not spoil anything through my answers but as the story goes back and forward, it’s difficult for me to remember what happened in which part. But that is how I knew Locke isn’t Grey King.
    AT one point though that thought also crossed my mind for a second. 🙂

  6. nrlymrtl

    The glasses, optics in this story, is a nice touch. It also adds one more thing Locke can use in a disguise.
    I wish ALL homework was this much fun!

  7. I always enjoyed all the literature homework I had, although it was never THIS interesting. 😛

    And oh yes, the glasses! Having chararcters like Nazca’s brothers, who are obviously men of action, wear them is such a nice way of showing reality. Poor eyesight doesn’t only happen to academical people and their like.

    • I used to take lit classes in college because I knew I wouldn’t have time to read just for fun, so I’d at least make sure that I’d be assigned some good books.

  8. This isn’t homework: it’s too much fun!

    I agree with Lynn: this is like being in a huge book group . . . but even better, because we are being forced to read slowly and savor the experience.

  9. realbooks4everstephanie

    Great answers! I was wondering about that mysterious shadow too. Maybe its Sabetha? She has to show up sometime! 🙂

  10. “It would be nice to see a woman in a position of power, who is of a similar age to main character and not have a romantic attachment.”

    You will definitely want to stick around for the read along of Red Seas Under Red Skies. And Locke is on the short side. I think Nazca and Locke would make a great team, I almost wish there was a side story novel that was just the two of them finding mischief!

    yikes, this feel likes homework? ginger scalds, apricot tarts and foul language for everyone!

    • kaitharshayr

      Doesn’t feel like homework to me, am enjoying the book and the questions. 😀 Will definitely be reading the 2nd book.

  11. Amy

    Yes, they do have a ton of loot don’t they! It will be interesting to see if they spend any of it.

    And no, this is not like homework at all. 🙂 This book is so much fun it doesn’t even come close to homework.

  12. I don’t know if Locke is short or if people around him are tall, but it’s not the only time this is mentioned… I can’t imagine him to be a shorty though, don’t know why. And I’m so curious about Sabetha too, I am glad that there’s not too much romance in this book because it sometimes spoils the fun, but if there has to be, I’m hoping it will be with someone just as cocky as Locke!

    • kaitharshayr

      It’s funny I wouldn’t normally have noticed the height thing. If it had been a bloke I would have simply shrugged and thought him tall (as I would have assumed Locke was of average height.) But having the taller person as a woman made it stand out for me. Made it a bit different. 🙂

Leave a comment