The curse of being shy

Yesterday there was a Steampunk event at Blackwells bookshop.  I am not obsessed by the genre but I do really like it. Also China Meville was going to be there, as well as some other authors, and there was going to be Kraken rum (Kracken sponser The Kitschies, who were running the event.) All sounds good right?

Except for the fact that I am actually quite shy and it really comes to the fore front at times like this. I am bad at mingling at these sorts of events. Perhaps some of it was due to the fact that apart from China, I had read none of the other authors, so I don’t really know what to say/talk about. Most of the authors who I have read weren’t there (because they don’t live in this country.)

Still I think I’m much better at events where the author talks a bit, and then there’s a discussion. As I can listen and find it interesting. (And I don’t have to find some way to butt in to a conversation.)

One of the problems may have been that I didn’t realise it was on until that lunchtime. I debated going, and then I saw the words ‘stitch your own Slake Moth’ and that was all I needed. Still perhaps next time I should try and do some research before hand, so that I will at least know who is who if I don’t know who most of the people are. (There were far too many who’s in that last sentance.)

Still it wasn’t a waste. I got Dreadnought by Cherie Priest and Heartless by Gail Carriger, and Hubby picked up Embassytown by China Meville (which I had wanted to wait to get in paperback, but it was signed.) Also have a few ideas for pressi’s now too, which is good.

And I know that at some point the pattern for the Slake Moth is going to be on Ravelry, so I will keep an eye out for that. Because I’m totally making one. 🙂

Leave a comment

Filed under Books, Out and About

Leave a Reply

