100 books in a year?

So while browsing the net last night I noticed on someones blog a challenge of reading 100 books in the year and I wondered if perhaps I should sign up for that. C then pointed out that 100 books in a year works out to about 1 every 3 days or so. Now that figure worries me. Yes I do read quite fast but there are several reasons why I don’t think I could actually do this.

1. While some books I can read in no time at all, (I read Soulless by Gail Carriger in 2 days, pretty much because I couldn’t put it down, also the subject matter is somewhat familer, vampires, werewolves etc). Other authors (Peter Watts, China Mieville) take me longer to read. This is because they come up with new ideas and I have to slow down my reading speed to understand them. Whats the point in reading the story if I don’t make an attempt to understand the concepts being put accross. It would be a discreadit to all the time and effort they put into writing the book, and also I have enjoyed every book I have read so far from the two authors I’ve mentioned. They write good books, books i couldn’t really finish in 3 days. (Ok so if I didn’t have a job and other things to do I could totally finish them in 3 days, but I do have a job so it’s a moot point.)

That last comment leads on happily to point number 2. I have other things to do, knitting, I would also like to do more sewing this year. I have warhammer figures to paint. (I have banned myself from buying anymore till I have finished what I have… which I admit could well be a long time in the future at the rate I’m going.) There are certain computer games (Dragon Age 2, Mass Effect 3, Elder Scrols V) that I would like to play. I have roleplaying Monday nights. Also if I decide to do NaNoWriMo again then that means November is pretty much out.

I think I had a 3rd point but I can’t remember what it was.

However saying that I am curious as to how many books I do read in a year. Last year around august I remember this thought occured to me then. However there was no way I could remember what I’d read so far up to that point. So perhaps this year I should just keep a list of what I read.

3 Comments

Filed under Books

3 responses to “100 books in a year?

  1. catconnor

    I read somewhere (twitter I think) someone read over 1000 books – in fact I think it was over 1500. Me thinks it’s impossible to actually read that many books even if a person had NOTHING else to do. (And I doubt you’d be able to do ANYTHING else!) I suspected hyperbole. šŸ™‚

    I don’t think we can toss numbers out there and look at reading as a competition… it’s fun. It should be fun.

    If you think about it – with a life – reading 100 books a year is kinda nuts. Would it take the fun and enjoyment out of individual books if you felt you HAD to read x or you’d fall behind?
    It would for me.

    šŸ™‚

    • kaitharshayr

      Aye I agree with that it would just make it not fun. (It’s like when I’ve done the read all the booker prize nominees in 4 weeks. That’s stressful and unfun in someways, you sort of plan what you do around how many pages you’ve read that day. Don’t think I’m gonna do that this year.)

      My local book shop owner did point out he could read 100 books in a year, just get all the kids picture books. šŸ˜€ So maybe that’s what the person meant when they said they’d read 1000? Cause that’s really insane.

  2. Tara The Terrible!!

    I suspect that my mother has surpassed the 100 in a year. She DOES tend to read trashy harlequin romance novels. Which are like candy to her. She will read multiple in a day. She finishes a typical novel in less than a day. That said, she is also a stay at home mom. Still. Long story involving nine children. At any rate, it is plausible.
    It is relative to the size of books and content though. I can read a book in a day as well, but only if I’m into it. If I am not…well…
    I have in the past indulged in a book a day for fourteen days. I managed it, but I threw in the Chronicles of Narnia, which as I’m sure everyone knows very light reading.
    I would be tempted to try the 100 books in a year, but I go through non-reading phases where I have no interest, and that would kill the attempt right there.
    And I agree that trying to set up a deadline would kill the enjoyment of the book. Taking whatever time you deem necessary to fully experience the novel, whatever it may be, is important in reading.

Leave a Reply

