Your from where?!

So apparently I’m not English, according to a manager at work I’m either an Aussi or a Kiwi (I honestly can’t remember which one he said), but that there’s no way I could be English, or indeed a Londoner as I don’t have a London accent.

I was in stitches as I said ‘No I AM from England, London, born and bread’ and he went ‘No, really? No can’t be, but you don’t sound English!’

I’ve had people ask if I’m Aussi before, when I did a semester abroad in Canada there were at least 13 people who asked me if I was from Australia. In fact I even had one person ask if I was from South Africa. Now.. I can kind of understand Oz, the London accent has a little bit of a twang, and could sound similar to a fairly light Aussi accent. But South Africa? That is a VERY distinct accent, and is nothing like a London accent. That was back in 2003.

Since then at work in the last few months I’ve had a couple of people ask me if I’m from Australia or New Zealand,  as they said I have a bit of a twang.  Now I’ve been with C from 2 years and 4 months now, and we’ve lived together for 2 years now so I probably have picked up a bit of a New Zealand twang.

It was just quite funny how the manager seemed absolutely shocked that I am a Londoner born and bread, he just couldn’t believe it.  Afterwards a couple of other people sitting around said no, I definitely sound like a Londoner.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

