Election

Right I’m going to force myself to post, I kept thinking that I would post early and make comments about the election, I will not let the fact that I could close my eyes and fall asleep stop me.

So right, what am I going to say? It’s been an interesting election, and yes I am disappointed with the out come, not the hung parliament, I was expecting that. I was pretty sure there was no way that either Labour or the Conservatives would get enough votes to get the majority. What has disappointed me though is the fact that the Lib Dems have got less seats than they did in the last election.

For those who aren’t in the know, the Lib Dems are the 3rd party, and usually most people don’t really give them a second look. However the TV debates for this election changed all that, the first debate really made people stand up and take notice of them, and consider that they might be worth voting for. Several polls taken before the election even put them above labour at times. The media hyped them, and a lot of people said ‘Yes maybe the Lib Dems’. So then how is it that they are 5 seats down from the last election, when people were expecting them to get say 70 if not a little more. My theory? I think that a lot of people who said ‘yes I’ll vote Lib Dem’ or ‘I agree with their policies’ decided that they really didn’t want a Labour government or a Conservative government and so took their vote away from the Lib Dems.

So now where do we go from here? (Hah see the slight Buffy reference there?) Well right now it would seem that the Conservatives are approaching the Lib Dems, to talk. Who knows what they’ll decide, whether it could potentially be an actual coalition,  or some kind of deal. In some ways  a deal between these two makes the most sense, as they would have the majority then. (You need 326 seats for a government majority, Cons have 305, Labour 258, Lib Dem 57).  On the other hand they probably have the least in common as parties, and a lot of the hard wingers on both sides would probably be very upset.

From what I understand however, in the situation of a hung parliament, Gorden Brown is technically allowed to approach the Lib Dems first, as he was/is prime minister.  However the Lib Dems did say that they only really wanted to deal with the party that got the most seats, which was the Cons. And Gorden Brown said he would respect that decision.  The thing is even if the Lib Dems and Labour did a deal, they can’t get a majority, they would have to woo several other parties, in a rather more complex arrangement.

So where do I stand on this? I actually don’t mind if the Lib Dems join with Cons, depending on quite what they get out of it. A referendum on our silly political system would be DAMNED nice. And I really hope we can get that. Why? Because even IF the Lib Dems had managed to get the same number of votes as Cons, or Lab then they STILL would have had less seats than the other parties. How does that work? It means the Lib Dems could never have a look in.  The way the votes in constituencies are weighted means that not everyones vote for the main election is the same. We definitely need something like MMP (like what New Zealand has).

In other election news (I promise I’ve nearly finished) but it would seem that quite a lot of people were unable to vote because it hit 10pm and the polling booths had to close. Now on the one had they did have 14 hours to vote from 7am to 10pm, and legally the polling stations have to close at 10pm. However I don’t think the law’s regarding polling account for the possibility of people standing outside queuing. So  some polling stations turned people away, others pulled everyone inside and locked the doors, and thus those people could vote.  There was no consistency.

I guess we’ll see how things pan out in the next few days.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Election

  1. James Arthur

    Sorry for posting this as a comment to your political thoughts when it has nothing to do with your worldly elaborations. I was not sure where to send my query so I did it here. Though I feel a bit like a stalker, I pursued an investigation into the Librivox reader Lizzie Driver that led me your blog. I posted comments on Lizzie here http://librivox.org/forum/viewtopic.php?p=470834#470834. Even if you are not the Lizzie Driver I have grown fond of, I enjoyed your blog.

    • kaitharshayr

      Thats fine, I am indeed the Librivox reader, I’ve just been rather rubbish and haven’t done any librivox stuff in ages, life just a bit to hectic in some ways. I really should fix that though and get back in to reading.

      Thank you so much for your comments, they were lovely to read. 🙂

Leave a Reply

