A New Year

So here we go again, I say wow it’s been a long time and that I promise to do better next time and will post more regularly. But really we know that’s not going to happen. I think it comes from staring at a computer all day working, because it’s not like I don’t have stuf to post about. I’ve still got my knitting to post about, I’m so very behind with that.

But big things did happen in my life, in between my last rare blog post and this one.  The biggest one? I got married. Me and C tied the knot on the 5th December 2009. And, even though we didn’t have very long to sort everything, I have to say that we most definitely made the day our own.

I also learnt some important facts, the biggest one being that Wedding Dresses generally take 9 months to do, but that due to the awesomeness of House of Fraser it can be done in 1 month. In fact less, seeing as I had my fitting to see if said dresses needed taking in (which it did) about 2 weeks before the wedding.  Yes the dress was quite expensive, but it was also totally worth it.

So in the end what was the them for the wedding? Geek

No I’m not ashamed to admit it, it was a totally geek wedding.

For starters (and it took me until like 3 days before the wedding to pick this) I walked down the aisle to music I heard in Fallout 3. Which means that it was stuff that was genuinely released in the 30s, 40s,50s. But I was introduced to it via the game, so I do think of it as Fallout Music.

So I walked down the aisle to ‘Crazy He Calls Me’ by Billie Holiday Which was sung very beautifully by a friend of mine.

And we left to the sound of  ‘I Don’t Want to Set the World on Fire’ By the Inkspots

I have to confess that I very nearly added something along the lines of  ‘I do swear on the ring’, like Gollum in Lord of the Rings… but I thought it was a bit too much. Admittedly it was very hard to not start laughing during the vows seeing as I didn’t realise just quite how long I’d made them. It seems to take an age when your repeating all the lines.

We also had the following poems:

i carry your heart with me by E. E. Cummings

i carry your heart with me(i carry it in
my heart)i am never without it(anywhere
i go you go,my dear; and whatever is done
by only me is your doing,my darling)
i fear
no fate(for you are my fate,my sweet)i want
no world(for beautiful you are my world,my true)
and it’s you are whatever a moon has always meant
and whatever a sun will always sing is you

here is the deepest secret nobody knows
(here is the root of the root and the bud of the bud
and the sky of the sky of a tree called life;which grows
higher than the soul can hope or mind can hide)
and this is the wonder that’s keeping the stars apart

i carry your heart(i carry it in my heart)

and

To F—s S. O—g By Edgar Allan Poe

THOU wouldst be loved? – then let thy heart
From its present pathway part not!
Being everything which now thou art,
Be nothing which thou art not.
So with the world thy gentle ways,
Thy grace, thy more than beauty,
Shall be an endless theme of praise,
And love – a simple duty.

Then there was lots of photo taking, (I’m really glad it wasn’t as cold as it could have been) and then the reception.  And I’m pretty damn sure we had the best wedding cake in the world… I was worried when we ordered it that it might not look good enough, but I didn’t have to.

SSD55 - 165 Lizzie & Caleb

It suffered a little from transport between the bakery and the restaurant but still. Aren’t the dice awesome?! I thought they were going to be marzipan too (I don’t like marzipan) but nope, they were sugar, totally yummy!!!

We also gave all our guests a little something:
SSD55 - 189 Lizzie & Caleb

These two were for us. The rest for everyone else:

DarkElves

MenatArms

Orcs

C did spend ages painting them, I helped with the Dark Elves, but he painting the rest.  We created stats for them too and gave them silly names.  It was all great fun.

And so below is the best detail I could get of the beading on the top of my dress.  I feel I should point out that this was also the first dress I tried on.

And here’s the bouquet:

Boquet

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

