Decisions decisions

So I’ve very nearly finished The Talisman for librivox, I’ve got a bit of editing to do for the last few sections (I swear I remember a time when I had few sections I needed to edit, am I getting more careless? Although only needing to make 1 edit per section is not that bad I guess) and I need to record the introduction. Thats not likely to happen for a week or so for 2 very good reasons. 1) I have to hand my thesis in next thursday so I need to work on that and 2) I now have a cold. Its not too bad yet, but I’m feeling sniffly and bunged up and a bit breathless. And even though I will probably be over the worst of this by next Thursday it’ll probably take ab it longer just to be well enough to record. (Ah but don’t you love the timing of this cold?!)

Anyway, so I’ve started  to think about what I want to record next. I’m torn between another Sir Walter Scott book, or maybe a H. Rider Haggard book. I’ve started to read Ivanhoe (not for Librivox, someone else is already doing that but in book form on the tube) and I have to say, that from the two books I’ve read so far Scott’s books take a couple of chapters or so to get into the action, but once their there boy is it fun! 🙂 At the same time I also like Haggard’s adventure stories. So I’m wondering maybe Scott’s Rob Roy or maybe Haggard’s People of the Mist.

And then my mind wondered as I remebered Orlando Furioso by Ludovico Ariosto. I got the prose version on the advice from a friend who told me it’s a crazy if fun tale. And it is, there’s several stories all going on at once, (which makes it a little hard to keep track of things) crazy magicians and antics as well as one guy who visits the moon. (The tales are set around the time of Charlemagne’s war with the King of Africa, Agramante). I would love to read this for Librivox but there is one small problem, the prose version is NOT public domain, the public domain version is in verse. I am not a huge fan of poetry and I’m not really very good at reading it out aloud. Therefore the idea of reading a poem that has 32 canto’s is… rather daunting. I don’t think I could do it justice. I suppose I could do it as a collaborative at some point. But I have a couple of other idea’s for Collabs, so I’m not sure.

Anyone (out of the few people that I suspect read this blog) have any suggestions? Preferences?

I think I’m leaning towards Rob Roy.. but I’m sure when I had a look at that book a few months back I worked out that the intro was around 22k words(!) which I think may be longer than the actual book…. 😐

4 Comments

Filed under librivox

4 responses to “Decisions decisions

  1. Cat

    Ivanhoe is one of my favorite books. – admittedly I’ve skipped the first few chapters the last twice I’ve read it!

    Rob Roy is fabulous, but from memory the intro was diabolically long.

    Any clue where number-one-son is hiding? Hasn’t answered my emails about his new job!!! – Honestly the boy needs a good slapping. 😉

  2. kaitharshayr

    I can’t believe I hadn’t gotten around to reading Ivanhoe till recently, I’ve had the book for ages. Ah well. I’m looking forward to reading Rob Roy, the intro.. not so much. 🙂

  3. daniel

    Orlando Furioso please, pleeease! Ok now just consider this, I’m not a fun of poetry either, just like you… I never really got the inner meaning of poetry. Anyway when we read that poem in highschool I just loved it! It doesn’t feel like poetry at all! For once, its language isn’t archaic as most of the poetry and it’s perfectly understandable, furthermore, well it’s so funny that you won’t see the rimes after some getting used to it.
    Anyway what’s the prose version? I mean who did write it? the original is in verse and reading something else would feel like an abriged book wouldn’t it?

    it’s fabulous, just look at it. please give it a try.

    Le donne, i cavallier, l’arme, gli amori,
    le cortesie, l’audaci imprese io canto,
    che furo al tempo che passaro i Mori
    d’Africa il mare, e in Francia nocquer tanto,
    seguendo l’ire e i giovenil furori
    d’Agramante lor re, che si diè vanto
    di vendicar la morte di Troiano
    sopra re Carlo imperator romano.

    2
    Dirò d’Orlando in un medesmo tratto
    cosa non detta in prosa mai, né in rima:
    che per amor venne in furore e matto,
    d’uom che sì saggio era stimato prima;
    se da colei che tal quasi m’ha fatto,
    che ‘l poco ingegno ad or ad or mi lima,
    me ne sarà però tanto concesso,
    che mi basti a finir quanto ho promesso.

  4. kaitharshayr

    The prose version I’ve read was translated by Guido Waldman, its an Oxford Worlds’ Classics book.

    I have decided to do Rob Roy at the moment, as I do love Scott’s books, but I think you’ve persuaded me that when that’s done I think I shall give Orlando Furioso a try. 🙂 Although I’d be reading the English not the Italian version, it is a great if crazy tale that it should be on Librivox. And if I don’t feel I’m doing it justice as a solo I could always open it up as a collab. 🙂

    Although I can’t do any recording at the moment as my PC is out of action. 😦

    Also Daniel, assuming your the same Daniel who wrote on my about page? I did update that page with the info about my accent. 🙂 (unless you’ve seen it already)

Leave a Reply

