Olympics

Well the Olympics are over for another 4 years and wow what an Olympics it was. 🙂  I’m sure I remember seeing something on the news about how for 2012 the British team were aiming for 19 golds, and I can’t remember how many silver or bronze, and I thought to myself, “Hmm, well that’s unlikely to happen”.  I’m just too used to getting disappointed in the Football, Cricket, Rugby and all that.

You can imagine then that this Olympics turned out to be a rather pleasant surprise for me and probably a lot of other people.

19 Golds, 13 Silvers and 15 Bronze for at total of 47 Medals. Meaning that we can 4th.. FOURTH in the medals table, behind China (with 100 medals, 51 Gold), USA (with 110 medals, 36 Gold) and Russia (72 medals, 23 Gold). WOW.

We got 14 medals alone from the cyclists, with sailing, rowing and canoeing giving us quite a few more. The Australians, have joked that we only do well in the sitting down sports.. I think they might be a little bitter 😉

It was an amazing games, especially when you consider that both China and the USA had over 600 athletes each, while Britain had about half that number. And our best medal haul in 100 years. 🙂

Now I’m looking forward to 2012 (I’m just going to have to learn to cope with that god awful logo thou), and I’m definitely getting tickets to see.. something.. maybe the cycling? Swimming? Something at least! 🙂

Leave a comment

Filed under Sport

Leave a Reply

