Warhammer & Knitting

Wow am I lazy, I’ve been meaning to make a post for days and I keep getting distracted, by Uni work, Dawn of War, Assassins Creed, Bioshock and Knitting. It was my bday a week or so ago so I have been making use of some of my presents. Also there IS knitting content in this post.. Its just hidden away at the bottom, so if your not interested in Warhammer 40k please do scroll down. 🙂 (Yes I realise that I came up with an immensely original title for this post.. :P)

Anyway here is another one of my presents:

Yes its a Tyranid Army, my wonderful boyfriend C did buy it for me. 🙂 I’ve calculated that with all the modifications that I can make to my Tyranids then I will have about a 1500 point army. Not bad considering I can have 3 Carnifex’s in that! ^_^ Its funny I’ve never really been into Warhammer stuff, I mean I’ve always sort of liked the idea of buying maybe a tank or a dragon or something just to paint. But now that I’ve started to get to know the 40k Universe, what with playing in the Dark Heresy RP game, Dawn of War and having C talk about it a lot. Its a really well thought out universe with crap loads of back story which just makes it much more alive, even if Humanity is on the verge of being overrun by.. lots of horrible things, Tyranids being just one of them. 🙂

The great thing about Tyranids is that I can effectively paint them anyway I want, many of the other armies are a bit more restricted, or at least it seems that way to me. I’ve had the idea for the colour scheme that I’d like to use for a while, I saw a picture that someone had drawn of a Weevil and went “Perfect”. It consisted of dark blue, light blue and some rather bright green. So I decided to assemble my very first Warhammer 40k model, a Tyranid Warrior.


Look at those Scything Talons! There is a set of smaller talons, which seems to be the ones on the Tyranid Warrior in their Codex, but seriously why wouldn’t you put those ones on? I mean Tyranids are supposed to be scary and those? Well I’d say their scary at least. Talons taller than it, in fact taller than a Genestealer!

Here’s my warrior with its base coat and the first layer of blue paint, I have to say it was really awkward getting the paint to go where it was needed. There are lots of crevice’s!

Jumping forward a few pictures (because really I don’t need to show them all now). Here is my finished Warrior. 🙂

(Yes I know its a really crappy picture, I’m really going to need to invest in a better camera, my phone camera is just not cutting it these days.)

Now I just have another 56 more models to paint!! Including 3 rather large Carnifex’s! Eeep!

And now onto the Knitting content.

I also got one of these for my birthday:

Yup a ball winder! I have to say it made winding a 460 yard skein of wool SOOOOOO much easier!

Getting this also meant that I could finally start on an item that’s been in my Ravelry queue for ages!

Pattern: Kaleidoscope Cardigan (Non-Ravelry Link)

Yarn: NH Knitting Mama’s Moody Blues (Sock yarn)

Kaleidoscope

Isn’t the colour really pretty? And this pattern is so quick and easy! I only started this a few days ago and I’m just at the collar. All I have left to do is the sleeve and the button band (and to find some buttons) and then its pretty much done.  Well.. It’ll need blocking,  and I just seem to be so awful at getting things sorted to do my blocking! I mean I’ve finally finished knitting my Laminaria, in fact I finished that about a month ago, and I still have not blocked it, neither have I blocked  a lace scarf that I finished about a week later.

2 Comments

Filed under Knitting, Warhammer

2 responses to “Warhammer & Knitting

  1. bex

    i frown upon caleb like cannibalism

  2. Nice Tyranids i reckon you need i hive tyrant though

Leave a Reply

