Red Seas Under Red Skies – Read Along Final Week

The very last section of Red Seas Under Red Skies! :(  (How long am I going to have to wait till Republic of Thieves?? A year for the paperback? Ack!!!) The questions this week are from Lynn at Lynn’s Book blog.  It’s been a lot of fun and while I know I haven’t posted as much on others blogs as I should have I have enjoyed reading everyone’s answers. :)  And I look forward to being able to do another read along again sometime. Thanks to everyone who organised this! Little Red ReviewerDark CargoMy Awful Reviews, and @ohthatashley from SF Signal.

To anyone who hasn’t read the book then beware of major spoilers below!

1.       Oh my god, such a lot going on I thought the showdown between the Poison Orchid and the Sovereign was brilliantly written and they were holding their own until Utgar and his nasty device turned up.  Well a lot of you had kind of predicted it, and I suppose we’d been let off too easy so far in terms of deaths of well-liked characters  – but come on,  did you expect something like that?  And how on earth will Jean ever recover?

I have to say well done to Lynch for this bit. I never expected Ezri to survive I was prepared for her to die, and yet when it happened I had tears in my eyes. I thought it would just happen in the fight. But that? What a horrible way to die too. I think Jean will eventually recover, and I know that Ezri would want him to get on with his life. She’d give him a stern talking to if he just wallowed.

2.       The deceit, the betrayal, first Rodanov and then Colvard.  Even now I’m not entirely sure I understand Colvard – Rodanov was never keen on the oath but Colvard seemed okay with it all and yet in this final deceit she was more devious than Rodanov – what do you think was her motive?

Survival. She’s cautious, she’s not gotten to her age as a pirate without thinking things through. With the way she’s played things, well she has the potential to win either way. If Rodanov won then she knows they should be safe from The Archon, and would know that she potentially wouldn’t have any further reprisals from Rodanov in mopping up any further trouble. On the other hand, he’s taking all the risks and she doesn’t have to, so if, by what must have seemed small odds, Rodanov didn’t survive then who else would know that she had sided with him? I mean someone might suspect but there’s no proof. p

3.       Merrain – such a puzzle, no real answer, the mysterious tattoo, the determination to kill everyone to keep her identity and that of her master a secret.  Does anybody have any ideas where she’s from and what she’s up to exactly and who the hell is she working for??

The tattoo is clearly a big clue, but I don’t think it’s been described in the books previously? So I suspect we aren’t meant to know yet. Locke didn’t seem to recognise it either. Things might become more apparent in the next book? Maybe she really is working for Bondsmagi.

4.       Finally we get to the point of the GB’s latest scheme, all that elaborate planning for two years, fancy chairs, gambling, dust covered cards, abseiling lessons – all for one gigantic bluff. I loved the diversionary tactic here but having finally reached the end of the story and, more to the point, the end result – do you think the GB’s are as clever as they think they are?

I laughed when Requin mentioned getting the real paintings out! Genius.

No, I don’t think Locke is as clever as he thinks he is, but he is pretty clever. I mean the whole setting everything up to make it look like they were hitting the vault and that being one giant misdirection. That was clever and it is what you need to as a con artist. It’s all about misdirection. (Again I mention Hustle the BBC TV show its a great example of this.) But… he did just assume that Requin would have the real thing on display.

Yes on the one had its a fairly good assumption, its hard to get to that office in the first place, why wouldn’t he show the real ones. On the other hand he didn’t check the pictures and yes he never really had a chance to but it never came up as a ‘What if they are fake?’.

He has this really really bad habit of underestimating people or maybe he’s just too optimistic?

Also 2 years? I mean given he was still recovering at the beginning, but 2 years? That’s a loooong time.

5.       I must admit that I liked Requin and Selendri – particularly at the end – I don’t think Requin will go after Locke and Jean, he was even sort of cool and composed about it all, in fact he came across as a bit pleased with himself because he had the last laugh.  Plenty of good characters this time which did you enjoy reading most about this time?

I have to say I did like the bit at the end with Selendri, on the one hand I do wonder what the place is going to be like with secret police and things like that. But on the other hand I reckon that The Archon will get his wish in a sense, Tal Verarr becoming stronger, just not in the way he’d intended. :)

I liked Zamira’s bits too, its very nice to see inside the world of a strong female character who can rule over a bunch of pirates but is also soft hearted enough to be gentle with her kids, to give them the love and attention they need. Ah 3 dimensional characters. :D

6.       Finally, a triple barrel question, I know I shouldn’t ask this BUT, on reflection do you have a favourite between LoLL or RSURS??  And why?  Are you going to pick up Republic of Thieves?  And, where do you think Lynch will take us to next??

Toughest question yet! Yes of course I will be picking up Republic of Thieves! :) But as to which I prefer between LoLL and RSURS? I think LoLL was grittier in some ways, The Grey King was nasty with how he carried everything out. And while Locke & Jean were poisoned in this one. Locke was shoved and nearly died in a urine filled coffin. But then I quite liked a lot of the arguments that L&J had in this book, showing character development and such. As well as meeting people who could potentially be allies in future books. I think when it comes down to it I can’t decide.

Other things:

Locke! Trust Jean! How many times has the man saved your life? Trust him! Even if you missed the hand signal. Also I had a feeling Locke would have done something with the cure before they sat down, I wasn’t quite sure whether he’d have just tossed it because how could they decide?

I know I actually had a few other comments on some things but I honestly can’t remember what they were. I will end with saying that I do wish I could give both the boys a hug, they’ve had so much crap thrown at them and well its not over yet considering Locke’s condition. Still hopefully Regal will give them some tlc, in the way that only a cat can.

9 Comments

Filed under Books

9 responses to “Red Seas Under Red Skies – Read Along Final Week

  1. I think Ezri would want Jean to recover and live his life too. I hope he does.

    That whole scene where Locke missed the hand signal – and Jean’s comments about practicing the signals more often. It was hilarious and yet, also showed Locke’s deep trust issues.

  2. Pingback: Red Seas Under Red Skies Read Along Finale « Darkcargo

  3. Ok, I feel rather stupid now. I never thought Locke might do something with the poison, at that point I actually managed to forget about it so when Jean said it was time to talk, I thought, What about? :)
    I got side-tracked by Requin and the paintings, that is my excuse. But in retrospect, of course Locke would do that, Jean saved his life so many times, it was the one thing he could do for Jean.

    • kaitharshayr

      I will admit to forgetting about the talk, what with the whole section with Requin etc. The thought that Locke might just toss it was more when they had saved the bottle. :)

  4. I like how Lynch used misdirection on the reader as well as Requin – we were all so focussed on the vault we forgot that there’s tonnes of wealth elsewhere in the Sinspire.

  5. I cracked up when I realized the paintings were fake. IN a way I’m almost glad though, because I liked Selendri and Requin.

    I suspect that Merrain’s working for the Bondsmagi, which would explain why she specifically was trying to get rid of Locke and Jean.

  6. Pingback: Final Red Seas Under Red Skies read along discussion « the Little Red Reviewer

Leave a Reply

